Date (JST): Feb 17, 2020 - Feb 19, 2020,
Title: Cosmic Acceleration
URL: //
Remarks: Venue: Lecture Hall, Kavli IPMU, Kashiwa, Japan

Masahiro Takada
Hitoshi Murayama
Tomomi Sunayama
Misao Sasaki
Masashi Hazumi
Nobu Katayama

This workshop is supported in part by Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Innovative Areas program“Why does the Universe accelerate? - Exhaustive study and challenge for the future -“.
It is a part of the new graduate program Forefront Physics and Mathematics to Drive Transformation (FoPM).

Because gravity is an attractive force, the expansion speed of the Universe should be decreasing. However, observational data accumulated over the years strongly support that the present Universe is in the phase of the accelerated expansion and there was also another phase of the accelerated expansion in the very early Universe. The physical echanism that makes the Universe undergo the ccelerated expansion is not known yet. Some “repulsive force” is necessary. The purpose of this innovative area is to clarify the origin of the accelerated expansion. In order to achieve this goal, it is necessary to investigate the interplay between the repulsive force causing the accelerated expansion and the attractive force sourced by dark matter which triggers the formation of the cosmic structures such as the galaxies and clusters of galaxies. In this innovative area, researchers from different fields join together and form nine sub-groups: inflation in the early Universe (A01), decelerated expansion by dark matter (A02), accelerated expansion by dark energy in the present Universe (A03), cosmic microwave background (B01), galaxy imaging (B02), galaxy spectroscopy (B03), direct measurement of the cosmic expansion (B04), ultimate data analysis (D01), and ultimate theory of the Universe (C01). Not only collaborations within each individual sub-group but also collaborations among the different sub-groups are essential to obtain scientific achievements we desire.

This symposium consists of reports of scientific results by representatives and members of each sub-group as well as researchers selected for public research.